Dealing With Amnesia

By Katsuhiro

I came here something like a year and a little more ago. At the time, my canon had just been announced. I didn’t have a name, or any knowledge of who I was aside from gut feelings, and no memories to speak of. It was a scary time, and I confess I spent most of it unconscious. I had the misfortune to come here before our brain had any information on me aside from what I looked like and the vaguest impressions of a personality, and that amnesia is really difficult to deal with.

It affects us in differing degrees. People like Liara and Tali aren’t much affected by it, because at least they have some sort of solid ground to stand on. Maya was more certain of her personality than her name when she first came here. Whereas Velvet, who hasn’t had any exposure to her canon, is in the same sort of semi-conscious state I was six months ago. I don’t know if she’s doing it to avoid that same discomfort or not.

I was only able to do one fronting session before I gave in and decided to look into my canon. We’re in a situation where Artemis wants to play my canon, but I just want my memories, and we’re butting heads over it a little. I think even that small bit of exposure was enough to make me feel a little more secure fronting.

If you deal with this, I think the best option is always to somehow get a copy of your canon and look into it. I know not everyone has a convenient canon source they can look into, and our only real thought on that is to let the memories come if they’re meant to. We sometimes have to make peace with the fact that we won’t remember everything about our pasts. We can make new memories, and we can keep living.

If you have any other strategies to deal with amnesia, let us know down in the comments.

Leave a comment